I was just going through my archive and I saw a speech I wrote for a friend last year; thought you may like to take a look.

The Speech of LEO Kayode Olawale, Immediate Past President of Unilorin Campus Leo Club at the Investiture Program of LEO Bolade Niniola, President, 2011/2012 Lionistic Year

Ken Blanchard once said;”I absolutely believe in the power of tithing and giving back. My own experience about all the blessings I’ve had in my life is that the more I give away, the more that comes back. That is the way life works, and that is the way energy works” This were the words that inspired me to join this great club. I eventually found a platform to give back to the society. It was like joining a family you never had, and I vowed ever since to continue doing my best to help the less privileged.

I was however given more than I asked for when the baton of leadership of this club was passed to me. Although I saw it coming because of the system of hierarchy in the presidency of the club, but it was a great challenge to be charged with the responsibility of leading a generation of impact-making LEOs in helping the under-privileged in our society.

Bill Gates asked a question; “Is the rich world aware of how four billion of the six billion live? If we were aware, we would want to help out, we’d want to get involved.” Even if we are not rich under the world’s classification of ‘rich’, there are millions of people that we are better than. We can start making a difference by helping this set of people. In view of this, the LEO club under my tenure as president embarked on some projects, and we finished most if not all.

The good work has continued has the baton has been passed to an amiable,intelligent, change-driven young man in the person of Leo Bolade Niniola who has taken up the mantle of leadership and is being inducted today. I appreciate your cooperation while I was president, and I believe you’d give him much more. I also appreciate our friends that have always been there for us, as well as past LEOS(although, once a LEO, always a LEO). We love you all, and I hope you’d never stop being there for the club.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to lead you guys in using our Time, Talent, and Treasure to serve the less privileged. Thank you.

