The 2012 edition of BET awards aired on Sunday, 1st July. The event hosted by Hollywood actor, Samuel L. Jackson was a night of glamour and glitz, with the host opening with a parody of Kanye West and Jay-Z’s single “In Paris” with director Spike Lee. The rap duo were the biggest winners of the night with Video of the year award for their single “Otis”, and Best Group award for their collaboration on album “Watch the Throne”.

Jay-Z’s better half, Beyonce, and Chris Brown also won two awards each on the night.

Washington DC born Nigerian Wale,Nicki Minaj, Usher, Brown, G.O.O.D. Music, Y’Anna Crawley, Amber Bullock, Jessica Reedy, Melanie Fiona and 2 Chainz were among the performers of the night.

The performances of the night also included a special tribute to Whitney Houston that starred Chaka Khan, Brandy, Monica and Houston’s mother Cissy Houston, who sang “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” The tribute also included appearances by Houston’s “Waiting to Exhale” co-stars Angela Bassett, Loretta Devine and Lela Rochon.

Here is a list of nominees and winners of different categories of the awards.

Best Female R&B Artist
⁠Marsha Ambrosius
⁠Beyonce — WINNER
⁠Mary J. Blige
⁠Melanie Fiona

Best Male R&B Artist
⁠Chris Brown — WINNER
⁠Bruno Mars
⁠Trey Songz

Best Group
⁠Bad Meets Evil
⁠Diddy-Dirty Money
⁠Maybach Music Group
⁠Mindless Behavior
⁠The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) — WINNER

Best Collaboration
⁠Beyonce f/ J. Cole – “Party”
⁠Big Sean f/ Kanye West & Roscoe Dash “Marvin & Chardonnay”
⁠DJ Khaled f/ Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne – “I’m On One”
⁠Drake f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga – “The Motto”
⁠The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) f/ Otis Redding – “Otis”
⁠Wale f/ Miguel – “Lotus Flower Bomb” — WINNER

Best Male Hip Hop Artist
⁠Big Sean
⁠Drake — WINNER
⁠J. Cole
⁠Lil Wayne
⁠Rick Ross
⁠Young Jeezy

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
⁠Nicki Minaj — WINNER
⁠Brianna Perry

Video of the Year
⁠Beyonce – “Countdown”
⁠Beyonce – “Love On Top”
⁠The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) – “[Expletive] in Paris”
⁠The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) f/ Otis Redding – “Otis”–WINNER
⁠Usher – “Climax”

Video Director of the Year
⁠Beyonce & Alan Ferguson — WINNER
⁠Benny Boom
⁠Chris Brown & Godfrey Tabarez
⁠Kanye West
⁠Hype Williams

Best New Artist
⁠A$AP Rocky
⁠Big Sean — WINNER
⁠Diggy Future
⁠Meek Mill

Best Gospel
⁠Yolanda Adams — WINNER
⁠Kim Burrell
⁠James Fortune & FIYA
⁠Fred Hammond
⁠Trin-I-Tee 5:7

Best Actress
⁠Angela Bassett
⁠Viola Davis — WINNER
⁠Taraji P. Henson
⁠Regina King
⁠Zoe Saldana

Best Actor
⁠Don Cheadle
⁠Idris Elba
⁠Kevin Hart — WINNER
⁠Denzel Washington

Young Stars Award
⁠Diggy — WINNER
⁠Jacob Latimore
⁠Keke Palmer
⁠Willow Smith

Best Movie
⁠”Good Deeds”
⁠”Jumping The Broom”
⁠”Laugh At My Pain”
⁠”Red Tails”
⁠”The Help” — WINNER

Subway Sportswoman of the Year
⁠Skylar Diggins
⁠Brittney Griner
⁠Candace Parker
⁠Serena Williams — WINNER
⁠Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year
⁠Carmelo Anthony
⁠Kobe Bryant
⁠Victor Cruz
⁠Kevin Durant — WINNER
⁠LeBron James

Coca-Cola Viewer’s Choice Award
⁠Beyonce – “Love On Top”
⁠Chris Brown – “Turn Up the Music”
⁠Drake f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga – “The Motto”
⁠Mindless Behavior – “Hello” — WINNER
⁠The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) f/ Otis Redding – “Otis”
⁠Wale f/ Miguel – “Lotus Flower Bomb”

Centric Award
⁠Common — WINNER
⁠Robert Glasper
⁠Robin Thicke

Best International Act
⁠AfricaCamp Mulla (Kenya)
⁠Ice Prince (Nigeria)
⁠Lira (South Africa)
⁠Mokobe (Mali)
⁠Sarkodie (Ghana) — WINNER
⁠Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best International Act UK
⁠Emeli Sande
⁠Wretch 32 — WINNER

Lifetime Achievement
⁠Frankie Beverly featuring Maze

Humanitarian Award
⁠Rev. Al Sharpton