jobs

To the batch ‘B’ corps members of the National Youth Service Corps, NYSC who just completed their service year, sorry I couldn’t get this across to you the day you passed out, but it’s better late than never they say.

It would have been great if everyone could just get a job after the one year compulsory service to our fatherland, but it’s never so as the number of graduates looking for jobs often surpass the number of jobs available in multiples.

I’ve heard stories of folks who had to wait up to 7-8 years before getting their first jobs, and you wonder what they did during those years. 

Some worked small jobs while they waited for their big breaks and survived those years with their ‘meagre earnings’, while others did nothing throughout their long/short wait.

Come to think of it, how much could a job seeker have saved from those daily home lessons that afforded him the luxury of buying every available gadget (you’ve seen them buy iPads, and latest Blackberry phones). How much could he have saved? 

As much as I wish you the best and hope you get your dream job ASAP, I have to remind you of this truth; not everyone will get a job. Not everyone will get a good job.

If you agree with me, we must now discuss the way forward.

If it’s true that you may not get a job, especially if you don’t have a dad or an uncle who is a top executive in a big company, multinational, or government who can make it easier for you, then you have to resolve to make it on your own-yeah, I know that’s harder than it sounds if you want to stay clean.

Gone are those days when First class or Second class upper honours assure you of a good job- in fact, I have a First Class graduate in my Masters class who said he only came to postgraduate school because he couldn’t get a job. So, who cares if you graduated with a 2.1, when thousands more graduated with same?

I’m not trying to make you feel unappreciated after working so hard to graduate with your good degree, but I just want to open your eyes to see beyond it. Your degree doesn’t necessarily have to be what puts food on your table. 

You must have read about the wealthiest people on earth one time or the other. Have you ever noticed their degrees or academic background hardly mattered in their success?

I should give you examples of people who learnt early enough that certificates aren’t the ultimate. Life stories should convince you.

Let me start with myself. I finished youth service in February 2012, and I’ve been employed once by a publishing company that paid me N40,000 per month in Lagos, but I was writing freelance all the while. The crazy thing was I wasn’t making as much as I was writing from the comfort of my home in the publishing company work I was doing.

I can also tell you about a friend who earns well over a N100,000 now in a job he never interviewed for with his certificate. In fact, he just finished youth service this June and he lives better than a lot of people who claim to have a job. What he has working for him are the skills he has gathered over the years. He is a field support engineer for one of the leading V-SAT providers in Nigeria. He has attended many seminars and undergone several training in the field he has now chosen over the Mathematics he studied in school. He is a fulfilled man, I tell you.

You don’t have to be a job seeker my friend. We all can’t be job seekers; who will provide the jobs? The government has proven its incapability to provide jobs, why must we wait? The economy isn’t reflective of the statistics our leaders tell the world. There are no jobs lying around my friend. If you can’t find one, make one!

Now, no one has a problem with you being the high flyer who wants to work at the top multinationals around, but you can’t render yourself useless because you don’t want to settle for less. If you they won’t give you what you want, why not just find another way to get it?

Someone/some people started those big firms where you dream of working, you could build someone else’s dream job too. If you get it, fine. But if you don’t, that doesn’t end You, it just redefines You, and should open your eyes to possibilities around You.

If you’d just open your eyes wide and wouldn’t allow Shell, Chevron, GT Bank, Mobil, Zenith, etc. blindfold you, maybe you’d be able to see how limitless the possibilities around you are.

There are over 170 million Nigerians whose needs you can meet to make a living. The time to act is now.

