“When I’m stressed, it helps me to calm down. When I need to think and strategize, a level does the magic. Even when I need to be relaxed enough to sleep, playing lulls me to sleep,” Mary told The Nerve.

The 24-year-old Administrative Officer at a Lagos, Nigeria-based Human Resources Consultancy says she could never forget the day a colleague introduced her to Candy Crush Saga — February 6, 2014. “Our love has grown stronger ever since.”

Mary, who asked that her last name should not be published, claims she is not ashamed of her “Candy Crush Saga”.

Although she plays at least thrice a week and spends an average of $5 a day to buy moves and lollipops, Mary J. insists she is not addicted to Candy Crush.

“I use the game to my advantage. It does not affect my productivity in any way.” However, she is now on level 808 and she says she isn’t bored yet. “I don’t even think there’s a chance.”

Mary is one of the millions of people around the world to have fallen in love with Candy Crush Saga, a match-three puzzle video game released by Irish social games company, King Digital Entertainment on April 12, 2012. The game is estimated to make $1,000,000 per day from its users, according to Appdata. In the last three months of 2013 alone, players spent $493 million on in-app purchases of extra moves, lives and power-ups, according to King’s IPO filing. The game has been downloaded more than 500 million times. The success of Candy Crush Saga reflects in King’s revenue which grew to $2.260 billion in 2014.

 

Read More

